In 2011, over 100,000 people with severe disabilities were approved for Social Security Disability benefits within a few weeks of filing their claim for befits.  Under the Compassionate Allowance Program, certain serious medical conditions require only minimal medical evidence to show that the person suffering from the condition is disabled and entitled to Social Security Disability benefits. 

The Compassionate Allowance Program was launched in 2008 with a list of 50 eligible conditions.  That list has grown since that time to over 100 conditions.  Examples of some of the eligible conditions are:

  • Malignant Multiple Sclerosis;
  • Endomyocardial Fibrosis;
  • Certain advanced cancers and leukemias;
  • Certain Brain Tumors;
  • Heart Transplant Wait List;
  • Certain advanced dementias;
  • Infantile Tay Sachs Disease

The Social Security website,  has a complete list of all 113 conditions now recognized by the Social Security Administration under the Compassionate Allowance Program. 

Leslie A. Mitnick is a member of Stark & Stark’s Yardley, PA office, specializing in Accident & Personal Injury Law. For more information, please contact Ms. Mitnick.